Reconnecting Practicing Hygienists with the Nation's Leading Educators and Researchers.

Recipients Awarded New Dental Infection Control Scholarship

A total of 45 dental professionals were awarded the ADS-DANB-DALE Foundation Andrew Whitehead Education and Certification Scholarship.

The scholarship provides infection prevention and control education and certification to individuals working in dentistry and removes financial barriers to help dental professionals access these important resources and credentials.

The scholarship was conceived by Andrew (Andy) Whitehead and his family who provided the initial funding, along with the support of both industry and the profession. Whitehead’s extensive time spent in dental leadership positions with Henry Schein, Patterson, and Crosstex first opened his eyes to the critical role dental team members play daily in impacting the practice’s bottom line and patient relationships. Those experiences lit the fire within Andy to create this scholarship opportunity.

The scholarship launched earlier this year through a collaboration between the Association for Dental Safety (ADS), formerly known as the Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP); the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB); and the DALE Foundation, based on the organizations’ shared belief that every dental professional plays a pivotal role in ensuring safe and high-quality dental care.

Scholarship recipients receive the Dental Infection Prevention and Control Certificate and will have the certification exam fees covered to become Certified in Dental Infection Prevention and Control (CDIPC) or Dental Industry Specialist in Infection Prevention and Control (DISIPC) certified. Additionally, those that are not ADS members will receive one year of complimentary membership.

Scholarship recipients serve in a variety of positions in dentistry, including dental assisting, dental hygiene, dental office management, and other dental roles. Most scholarship recipients work in clinical settings, with nearly one-third working in community or public health.

2024 Scholarship Recipients

Michele Abraham
June Aoki
Jennifer Ashley
Crystal Bartlett
Quinesha Bonner
Teralyn Broussard
Jennifer Brozek
Rebekah Clark
Jennifer Colin
Jasmine Davis
Karina Dryden
Sara Ebe
Lyudmila Fedonchuk
Elsa Gamboa
Monica Gary

Jillian Godfrey
Aida Helena
Robin Keller
Tania Lassalle Rios
Ashley Logan
Hydeen Macey-Purnell
Sheyla Martinez Rivero
Rodney Matthews
Rebecca McFadden
Chana Mckenzie
Amanda McQueary
Sylvia Mendoza
Lauren Menkes
Donna Murray
Nicole Musgrove

Ngoc Nguyen
Teresa Perez
Rachael Price
Leslie Reilly
Billy Riley
Amy Rohlinger
Enrique Sanchez-Castillo
Undra Stanley
Amanda Tarara
Tessa Tilton
Megan Vaux
Amanda Vickery
Krystal Wallace
Jennifer Wyatt
Katish Wynter

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy