Reconnecting Practicing Hygienists with the Nation's Leading Educators and Researchers.

OSAP Announces Recipients of Infection Control Leadership Awards

OSAP Announces Recipients of Infection Control Leadership Awards  July 11, 2017 (ATLANTA, GA) — The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP), a community of clinicians, educators, consultants, researchers and industry representatives who advocate for the Safest Dental Visit™, is

OSAP Announces Recipients of Infection Control Leadership Awards 

July 11, 2017: (ATLANTA, GA) — The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP), a community of clinicians, educators, consultants, researchers and industry representatives who advocate for the Safest Dental Visit™, is pleased to announce the recipients of the annual OSAP Infection Control Leadership Awards and introduce a new Exhibitor Award. The OSAP Awards were presented at the Annual Infection Control Conference on June 22 – 25 and made possible through a grant from Henry Schein Dental. The new Exhibitor Award was voted on during the conference and was awarded to the exhibitor with the best educational presentation. 

“The OSAP Leadership Awards were established to highlight our community and their commitment to infection control,” says Mike Smurr, Immediate Past Chairman of the Board. “This year’s recipients represent thought leaders, experts and advocates for patient and provider safety. We are thrilled to honor them.” 

20th Annual Dr. James J. Crawford Award: Margaret Cottrell 

This award recognizes lifetime achievement in the field. Cottrell was one of the Founders of OSAP and has been affectionately referred to as the “Mother” of the organization. She has supported the organization by serving on both the Association and Foundation Boards of Directors. She has contributed her business expertise through strong financial stewardship as the organization’s treasurer and through active participation on key strategic committees. 

16th Annual Dr. Milton Schaefer Award: Douglas Risk DDS, ABGD 

This award celebrates superior service to the organization, recognizing either continuous contributions over a period of time or singular accomplishments. Dr. Doug Risk has been an integral part of the OSAP educational programming for several years involved with both Annual Conference and Boot Camp™ planning sessions. He has served as a speaker and liaison between Air Force (and other branches of the armed forces) and OSAP— promoting infection control education, policies, practices and dental healthcare personnel/patient safety initiatives. 

10th James Cottone Award for Excellence in Investigative Research: Peter Arsenault DMD, MS & Amad Tayebi ScD, Esq 

Dr. Arsenualt and Dr. Tayebi have advanced evidence based research in eye safety in dentistry and bottom gap exposure protection recommendations. Their publications and presentations have been recognized by the OSAP, ADA, NIOSH and OSHA as an improvement to the current eye safety standards in the health care industry. 

3rd Annual Emerging Infection Control Leader Award: Kandis Garland RDH, MS 

The goal for the Emerging Leaders Award is to help develop and promote the next generation of stars in the field of dental infection prevention and safety by identifying outstanding new infection control advocates. Garland has conducted research that focused primarily on infection control and has presented her research at regional, national and international meetings. She serves as a manuscript reviewer and as an infection control “Ask the Expert” Columnist. 

15th Annual Bette & Paul Schwartz Award: Peggy Spitzer RDH, MAEd 

This award is named in honor of a couple who personify the spirit of volunteerism for the organization and recognizes an outstanding volunteer from the previous year’s conference. Ms. Spitzer was unanimously voted to receive this award for her dedication, can-do attitude and tremendous support throughout the 2016 conference. 

Chairman’s Citation Awards 

OSAP Chairman, Mike Smurr, presented special citations to these individuals who enriched the organization by contributing a unique blend of talents, skills, hard work and unwavering commitment to the advancement of dental safety. 

Suzanne Bauman 

Cynthia Durley, MEd, MBA 

Hudson Garrett, PhD, MSN, MPH 

Pamela Head 

Therese Long MBA, CAE 

Regina Robuck, CAE 

Susan Runner DDS, MA 

Jean Wolff, RDH, MSEd 

NEW Exhibitor Educator Award: Crosstex International 

Crosstex International, Inc., a Cantel Medical company, received the Exhibitor Award. Crosstex manufactures a wide array of unique and innovative infection prevention and compliance products for the global healthcare industry. The award, voted on by the attendees of the annual conference, was based on several criteria: demonstration of a clear purpose for infection control, application of the product or service in a work setting and providing a memorable presentation from company personnel. Over 30 exhibitors participated in the conference. 

About OSAP 

The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP) is a growing community of clinicians, educators, consultants, researchers, and industry representatives who advocate for safe and infection-free delivery of oral healthcare. OSAP focuses on strategies to improve compliance with safe practices and on building a strong network of recognized infection control experts. OSAP offers an extensive online collection of resources, publications, FAQs, checklists and toolkits that help dental professionals deliver the safest dental visit possible for their patients. Plus, online and live courses help advance the level of knowledge and skill for every member of the dental team. For additional information, visit Download the OSAP Awards brochure and read more information on the OSAP Awards recipients here.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy